Happiness shouldn’t be hard

It seems, in my down days at the moment, that I have become aware of a new foible of mine: I spend far too much time thinking about what is wrong, and not nearly enough time thinking about what is right. 

Why is it easier to moan about what is wrong in our lives than it is to celebrate what is good? 

I have caught myself talking entirely negatively about my university course, my job, myself, my home life, my family…and painting a picture of entire negativity when actually, things are going very well in my life. Is it the case that I’m just not happy with anything? Or is it that old habits die hard? 

We are surrounded by negativity in the media, by others and in our own heads and when this is the whole encompassing image around us, it’s not easy to break the mould and be positive. 

Someone once told me that you have in excess of 60,000 thoughts a day…how many of mine are negative, destructive and self deprecating? Currently, well over half. This is simply not conducive to a healthy mind and it is most certainly not going to make me feel better about my life. 

Some of the thoughts I have been having recently include: am I doing the right course; am I following the right path; am I living life to the full; am I proud of myself; I feel ugly; I feel fat; I’m always lethargic; am I better than this? 

I can see simply from writing those few thoughts down how unhealthy this is. It simply cannot go on, as I’m never going to keep myself in a happy place if I play out old habits that feed my depression. These thoughts feed my anxiety and my low self worth and spur on anxiety attacks, as well as regret and unhappiness. I don’t want to go back to the person I once was, and I have fought so hard not to go back there.

Instead of 60,000 negative thoughts, I’m going to try my best to see the best in everything, or if not the best, then to consider what is the positive, what the lesson is, and how I can overcome any issues. 

Over the next 5 days I’m going to be trialling my new positivity on my blog, along with you guys, and I would love to hear your negative habits that you’re trying to break out of. 

Everything in life starts with a thought, and mine are going to be positive. How about yours? 

4 thoughts on “Happiness shouldn’t be hard

  1. I think I should do this with you. I actually have a permanent mantra written and taped to the side of my mirror ” I am successful at everything I do” . I tell my self this at least once a day and it works. I too feel like I’ not good enough in blogging, volunteering , being a mom, a good wife, daughter etc… The evidence is never founded . I guess we need to re program our thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great plan.

    Getting out of a negative mindset is pretty difficult to do once it’s become entrenched, but it’s one of the best ways to improve one’s happiness.

    Focusing on appreciating what you do have instead of what’s wrong or what is missing is huge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That means a lot. I actually am always thinking about what is missing and what I can cover over the cracks with. But if I stop and think about it there is plenty in my life that doesn’t need covering with anything and is pretty fantastic! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

