And so I disappear into a sea of insignificance

I flew off on holiday yesterday, and during my 2 and a half hour flight, I watched the world from the clouds. This got me thinking….

  • “I watched the world from the clouds” – in what crazy universe is that even possible?! We’re flying! How amazing it is to be able to travel all over the world in what is effectively a hovercraft?! 
  • The views of the world are absolutely and categorically nothing but stunning. We are so lucky to live on this earth and I need to stop taking that for granted. I need to remember how beautiful this earth is! 
  • I am blessed. 

Looking down on the cities, countries, continents and ocean, I felt like a mere dot on the map of the world. A dot so small it is invisible to the human eye. A dot smaller than the smallest thing on earth. And do you know what? That is really humbling. Instead of making me feel like nothing, it made me grateful. I’m grateful to have my life, and it has made me see that it is not important if I can’t buy the specific chocolate that I want, or if I don’t have enough money to buy that top that I really don’t need and won’t fit in my bulging wardrobe. Who cares if I don’t have a full face of makeup on? It’s not important when I’m just a dot. 

Dots need not stress. 

 
Dots are insignificant. Not insignificant in a negative way, but in a wonderful way. Of course our lives matter and are important. It’s essential that we make a difference in our lives and live to the maximum capacity that we can. We need to be kind, be self aware and be happy. But on the grand scale of things, in the world, in the universe, in the galaxy, we are insignificant. And that’s a good thing. In this knowledge, we can remember that no matter how hard our troubles, no matter how much negativity, there is always something and someone worse off, and with that thought our troubles seem so much smaller. That has to be a success in itself. Remember what a huge world we live in, within a huge universe, and how wonderful it is that we are even here! 

 
There are so many people in this world suffering, hurting, bleeding or dying. I don’t have it so bad. I am in fact, very, very lucky. 

I may be a dot, but a happy and contented, insignificant dot. 

Leave a Reply

