Frustration

Does it ever feel like you’ve got the tools, you’re working your fingers to the bone, but nothing is changing? It feels like you’re running on a treadmill, neither moving forward nor back. Just treading water.

It is one of the cruelest frustrations that depression is just not fixable from one session of therapy, one pop of a pill song just make it all go away.

It takes hard work, energy, time, strength. And when you don’t have any of those things, and feel like you want to bury your head under your duvet and hibernate, where do you find the strength to carry on?

Sometimes we just need to dig a little deeper, and put our frustrations into making the changes we need to see. It’s hard, nobody said it would be easy. But it’s worth it. Oh, it’s worth it.

Think of your favourite memory, think of how it felt, how your mind felt, how your body felt, the smile on your face, the warmth. And now think how good it would be to feel that way every single day. That’s what makes it worth it.

5 thoughts on “Frustration

      • I hear you. I do this ALL THE TIME!!! and it pisses me off! If I can recommend two books which helped me: Brain over Binge and Rewire. The first one helped me understand why I give in to my cravings. The second, gives you tools to stop giving in.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for sharing !! I will do a search for those now, sounds like I could definitely use the tips! Sometimes the easier route is just to sit back and wait for something to happen (my usual routine) but I want to be someone who makes things happen!

        Like

      • The one tip I can give you is to try to change one thing at a time. Otherwise, new habits won’t stick. I do this mistake all the time, even though I know.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

