Selling yourself short?

On the evening before my job interview tomorrow, a very anxious me has got to thinking.  Why do we all turn into nervous wrecks, panic and have sleepless nights over sitting in front of a few people and talking about our accomplishments?

It would appear to me that the more humble of our society has become almost embarrassed to share the best of our achievements in fear of looking big headed or vain.  But why shouldn’t we celebrate ourselves and the things that we have achieved? The jobs we worked our arses off to get? The grades we stayed up too many nights studying for? And the hard graft we put into unpaid work experience placements to gain some inside knowledge? I fear too many of us step into an interview and down play our successes in fear of what people may think of us.

In our modern times, so much time, money and effort is put into advertising campaigns for the latest children’s toys, fast food or dog treats, however not many of us put the same amount of effort into advertising ourselves! Myself included.  I may present myself with a  face of makeup, a smart dress, straightened hair and a friendly exterior, however am I advertising myself to my full worth? No.

Tomorrow, I shall take a new approach.

Mental notes:

  • One must remember that the interviewer is just a person.  They are human just like me, and they too get nervous and anxious.
  • Everybody gets nerves, and everybody gets anxious.  It does not make me any weaker or less deserving of the job.
  • I already have a job.  Nothing is lost, but there is perhaps everything to gain.
  • It will be over quickly and then it is done.
  • I know I can do this, just as I have done may a time before.
  • I believe in myself.

How I will advertise myself and my qualities:

  • I have done my research into the job and all of its elements.  I shall talk about this with confidence and show that I have taken an interest into the background of the position.
  • I have done my research into the corporation – which so happens to be the NHS.
  • I am a compassionate person who works with sympathy and empathy to provide a caring experience for the patient.
  • My education and my thirst for knowledge is a great strength – I am always keen to learn and gain more knowledge and qualifications and am lucky enough to present AAABC in my A Levels and 10 GCSES (4x A*, 3x A, 2x B, 1x C).
  • I am driven and hardworking.
  • Perhaps at times I am too conscientious and pernickety as I always aim for perfection and always aim to please.
  • I am friendly and have great interpersonal skills.
  • I am intelligent and quick to learn and am happy to work independently or as part of a team.
  • Punctuality and reliability are two integral qualities that I am to always present.
  • I have completed work experience and worked in positions which have taught me how to deal with infection control, customer/client disputes and problems, interpersonal skills and empathy, all which are relatable to this post.

Writing this now, I already feel more confident.  My areas of knowledge are relevant and varied, and I am a positive and capable individual.  I am lucky enough to have a great working brain and am keen to learn, grow and diversify myself…after all that is what life is for hey!

So that was easy hey? A few minutes to write positive qualities and attributes about yourself before an interview is all you need to make yourself feel a little more prepared and a little more ready to take on the challenge.  To sell yourself short is to let yourself and your achievements down. If we have worked hard to get where we are today, mentally, physically, in work or in our private lives, why shouldn’t we be our own biggest fan? It is vital to blow your own trumpet, sell yourself and leave the interviewer with no doubt that they want you.  If you walk away, knowing you did all you could, presented your strengths, admitted your weaknesses and advertised yourself to the best of your ability, then you can do no more.  And if you do not succeed, then accept that this one was just not for you, as everything happens for a reason.

Celebrate yourself, boost your own self confidence and write yourself a celebration of you sheet. Talk about what you’re successes are, what you wish to achieve, what you have to offer etc.  Even if not for an interview, why shouldn’t we sing our own praises, believe in ourselves and boost our own confidence.  I see this as an opportunity to show myself exactly what I can do, push myself and prove to myself how far I have come. My positive attitude – albeit with nerves too – and my seeking of a well paid, professional job role, prove to me I’m not the person I used to be. I can be more, and I am capable of more.  Therefore, I deserve more.

We accept the things we think we deserve – what do you deserve?

Leave a Reply

